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It is a great honor to serve as the new Chair 
of the Virginia Board of Accountancy.

The Code of Virginia requires that one of 
the Board’s seven members is a non-CPA, a 
“public member.” I am that member. While 
I am the only official public member, the 
entire Board of Accountancy is singularly 
focused on the VBOA’s overarching mission 
of public protection. If you have ever attended 
a board meeting, you know that discussions 
regarding policy matters always revolve 
around the public interest. 

The VBOA’s core mission of public 
protection is divided into four basic areas of 
responsibility: (1) oversight and implementation of licensure requirements; (2) 
enforcement of Virginia’s accountancy laws and regulations; (3) oversight of peer reviews; 
and (4) monitoring licensee compliance with continuing professional education 
requirements.

I want to focus on the fourth area of responsibilities: CPEs. 

CPE compliance works mostly on an honor system. Licensees annually certify in the 
renewal applications to be in compliance. That certification is not tested unless the licensee 
is randomly selected for a CPE audit or comes before the Board in an enforcement capacity.

The VBOA now audits approximately 10% of licensees annually for compliance with CPE 
requirements. In the last two fiscal years, the VBOA has determined that approximately 18% 
of the population of licensees audited are not in compliance. In other words, it appears that 
almost one-fifth of Virginia licensees are not in compliance with CPE requirements. That is 
a problem.

The Virginia CPE rules are straightforward. Licensees must obtain 120 hours of CPE over 
a rolling three-year period, with a minimum of 20 hours annually, to include the two-hour 
Virginia-Specific Ethics course, and if applicable, eight hours of attest and/or compilation 
CPE. 

Licensees approved for the Active – CPE Exempt status are exempt from these requirements, 
but remember that you must apply and be approved for this status before discontinuing 
CPE.

CPEs are not busy work or just another regulatory burden. The accounting profession is 
changing rapidly. 

As stated in the August 2016 American Institute of CPAs/National Association of State 
Boards of Accountancy Statement on Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 
Programs:

“The profession of accountancy is characterized by an explosion of relevant 
knowledge, ongoing changes and expansion, and increasing complexity. Advancing 
technology, globalization of commerce, increasing specialization, proliferating regulations, 
and the complex nature of business transactions have created a dynamic environment that 

Matthew P. Bosher
VBOA Chair

- continued on page 3

mailto:boa%40boa.virginia.gov?subject=
http://www.boa.virginia.gov


2

As a result of an important statute change that 
took effect on July 1, 2017, that applies to all 
Virginia licensed CPAs and firms, I highly suggest 
that all licensees READ this article to avoid the 
EXPIRATION of your CPA license!

With the beginning of a new fiscal year, July 1 
brought a change in Virginia statutes (law) that 
affects ALL Virginia CPAs and CPA firms. Effective 
July 1, 2017, § 54.1-4413.2 of the Code of Virginia 
that references the renewal and reinstatement 
of licenses has changed, thereby eliminating 
the additional 12-month period for renewal of a 
Virginia license. 

As a result, the Active-Renewal Fee Delinquent status for CPA licensees and firms will be 
discontinued. Prior to this statute change, an individual or firm holding a Virginia CPA license 
had an additional 12-month period following the license renewal date in which the licensee 
or firm could renew (with a $100 late fee). During this additional 12-month period, the licensee 
was granted an Active-Renewal Fee Delinquent status and was considered to be holding an 
Active Virginia CPA license.

With the change to the VBOA statutes, the additional 12-month period for late renewals ends. 
Unrenewed licensees will automatically go into EXPIRED status the day after the renewal is 
due. During the time a license is in EXPIRED status, you may not use the CPA title or practice 
public accounting until reinstatement of your CPA license has been approved.

For example: If your license (individual or firm) expires on August 31, you have until August 31 
to renew your license. If the license is not renewed by then, your license will go into EXPIRED 
status and you will no longer hold a Virginia CPA license.

Once EXPIRED, it will be the responsibility of the licensee or of the firm to REINSTATE their 
Virginia license. There is a $350 reinstatement fee for individuals and a $500 reinstatement fee 
for firms. This fee has been in place since January 1, 2013, and has not increased since that time.

When applying for REINSTATEMENT of a Virginia CPA license, individuals must demonstrate 
meeting the CPE requirement of 120 hours obtained during the previous three calendar-year 
period through the current calendar year, including the two-hour Virginia-Specific Ethics Course 
for the current calendar year.

CPA licensees are expected to renew their annual license on time each year. It is the 
responsibility of the licensee to renew their license (if they so choose), regardless if the licensee 
receives a reminder notice for renewal from the VBOA. 

Licensees who choose NOT to renew their license are encouraged to contact the VBOA to 
voluntarily surrender their license before it becomes EXPIRED.

The VBOA will now be sending an electronic renewal notice approximately 45-60 days before 
the expiration of the license (compared to 30 days prior to July 1). Starting in July 2017,  a 
second notice will be sent out mid-month electronically, as well as by mail.

Please confirm the VBOA has the correct email and mailing address, as well as phone number, 
on file to ensure receipt of reminders!

Wade A. Jewell
VBOA Executive Director
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Wade In: from VBOA’s director
Our staff
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Serving as your Chair for the Virginia Board of Accountancy 
has been my pleasure this past year. 

The VBOA and exceptional staff have been quite busy 
improving our statutes, regulations and communications 
with you as we protect you and the citizens of Virginia.    

For the past year, a number of changes have occurred that 
impact all licensees and firms. 

A few of them include: 

1. On September 1, 2016, the National Association of State 
Boards of Accountancy and the American Institute of CPAs 
approved a new CPE standard, which included nano- and 
blended learning. Nano-learning allows CPAs to earn CPE 
credits in increments of 10 to 50 minutes. A number of 
firms have registered with NASBA to provide learning 
opportunities and documentation accordingly.

2. On November 10, 2016, the VBOA held a meeting at 
Christopher Newport University in an effort to reach 
more educators and students. Dr. George Ebbs welcomed 
the VBOA to CNU along with its faculty and students. 
He gave a brief history of the university and noted the 
recent changes to the accounting curriculum. He also 
noted that 90% of CNU accounting majors intended to 
pursue their CPA license. Ms. Jessica Gray of the AICPA 

presented an excellent overview of the new CPA exam, 
which   launched  on  April 1, 2017. 

3. On June 14, 2017, the Board voted unanimously to
honor a statute change effective July 1, 2017, effecting 
§54.1-4413.2. of the Code of Virginia, which references the 
renewal and reinstatement of licenses. 

The statute eliminates the additional 12-month period 
for renewals. There will be no more Active-Renewal Fee 
Delinquent status for Virginia CPA licensees and firms. VBOA 
staff will ensure that ample communication to all CPAs and 
firms is done regarding this change. 

I will be leaving the 
VBOA at the end of 
June, however, the 
Board members and 
staff will continue to 
help and support the 
CPA profession. 

Let us always 
remember the trust 
and integrity the 
public has placed in 
us as CPAs. 

Any thoughts or ideas for future newsletters are greatly 
appreciated and can be communicated to  our Communications
Manager at kelli.anderson@boa.virginia.gov or our general 
email address at boa@boa.virginia.gov. 

Until I “Wade-In” next time, I hope you all have a terrific 
summer and fall!
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Wade In: from VBOA’s director, continued
  - continued from page 2

From the outgoing Chair

James M. “Jim” Holland
VBOA outgoing Chair 2016-17

From the Chair, continued
  - continued from page 1
requires CPAs to continuously maintain and enhance their 
professional competence.”

CPEs are intended to help licensees keep up with these 
changes. 

Moreover, it has never been easier to find CPE. Licensees 
can take CPEs online on their tablets or phones. CPE is also 
available in small increments to accommodate crowded 
schedules.

Given the importance of CPE and the relative ease of finding 
credit, it is difficult to explain why the VBOA’s CPE audits reveal 
that so many licensees are not in compliance with the CPE 
requirements. As with all VBOA matters we welcome input on 
this issue. 

If you have ideas regarding why the noncompliance rate is 
18% or how to improve compliance, please contact the terrific 
VBOA staff or, better yet, come to a board meeting.

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.2/
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New statute change regarding license
renewals begins July 1, 2017
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Beginning July 1, 2017, § 54.1-4413.2. of the Code of 
Virginia that references the renewal and reinstatement
of licenses is changing, thereby eliminating the 
additional 12-month period for renewals. The Active-
Renewal Fee Delinquent status for Virginia CPA 
licensees and firms will be discontinued.

Prior to this statute change, an individual or firm holding
a Virginia CPA license had an additional 12-month 
period following the license renewal date in which the 
licensee or firm could renew. During this additional 
12-month period, the licensee was granted an Active-
Renewal Fee Delinquent status and was considered to 
be holding an Active Virginia CPA license. 

Licensees who currently hold the Active-Renewal Fee 
Delinquent status as of July 1 will remain in that status 
until the license is renewed or expires.

Starting July 1, 2017, the additional 12-month 
period for late renewals ends. Unrenewed licensees 
will automatically go into Expired status the day after 
the renewal is due. 

During the time a license is in Expired status, individuals 
and firms may not use the CPA title or practice public 
accounting until reinstatement of the CPA license (shown 
as Active) is posted on the VBOA website Licensee 
Search. 

Once the license goes into Expired status, it will be 
the responsibility of the licensee or of the firm to 
reinstate the license. There is a $350 reinstatement fee 
for individuals and a $500 reinstatement fee for firms. 

STEPS FOR REINSTATEMENT
When applying for reinstatement of a Virginia CPA 
license, individuals must demonstrate meeting the CPE 
requirements of 120 hours obtained during the previous
three calendar-year period through the current calendar
year, including the two-hour Virginia-Specific Ethics 
course for the current calendar year.

If the reinstatement application is received by the VBOA 

within 12 months of license expiration, the date of the 
reinstatement, if approved, will be effective as of the 
date it expired.

However, for any reinstatement application received 
after 12 months of license expiration, the date of 
reinstatement will be effective as of the date the 
reinstatement application is approved.

The steps for reinstatement are available on the 
VBOA website at www.boa.virginia.gov/CPALicense/
Reinstatement.shtml.

CPA licensees are expected to renew their annual 
license on time each year. 

It is the responsibility of the licensee to renew their 
license, if they so choose,  regardless if the licensee 
receives a reminder notice for renewal from the VBOA. 

Licensees who choose not to renew their license are 
encouraged to contact the VBOA to voluntarily surrender 
their license before it becomes Expired.

For example: If your license (individual or firm) expires 
on August 31, you have until August 31 to renew the 
license. If the license is not renewed by then, the license 
will go into Expired status and the licensee or firm will 
no longer hold a Virginia CPA license.

The VBOA will be sending an electronic renewal notice 
approximately 45-60 days before the expiration of the 
license (compared to 30 days prior to July 1). Starting in 
July 2017, a second notice will be sent out mid-month 
electronically as well as by mail. 

- continued on page 5
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In accordance with Board Regulation 18VAC5-22-170C, 
the VBOA transmits license renewal notices 
electronically unless a licensee is unable to 
communicate electronically (in which case a notice will 
be sent via USPS). 

Please confirm the VBOA has the correct email address, 
mailing address and phone number on file to ensure 
receipt of reminders.

If you have any questions, contact the VBOA by phone at 
(804) 367-8505 or email at boa@boa.virginia.gov. 

Experience verification updates for exam candidates
Due to a statutory change beginning July 1, 2017, all 
Experience Verification Forms must be signed and 
verified by an active, licensed CPA (from any jurisdiction) 
to meet the experience requirements for individual CPA 
licensure. 

The experience requirement includes being employed in 
academia, a firm, government, or industry involving the 
substantial use of accounting, financial, tax, or other skills 
that are relevant, as determined by the Virginia Board of 
Accountancy. The CPA exam applicant must complete at 
least 2,080 work hours, or equivalent to one year of full-
time employment. 

Whether other skills are relevant shall be determined by 
the VBOA on a case-by-case basis. Self-employment does 
not meet the definition of experience in accordance with 
§ 54.1-4400, Code of Virginia. 

During the licensure application process, applicants will 
be required to complete an Experience Verification Form 
to verify experience qualifications. 

An active, licensed CPA (from any jurisdiction) will need 
to verify this experience has been met. However, as 
of July 1, 2017, the CPA no longer needs to be a direct 
supervisor of the applicant.

This is a change from previous submissions when a 
supervisor, who may or may not have been a CPA, would 
attest to the applicants work experience.

The VBOA does not accept licensing documentation from 
exam candidates who have not passed the CPA exam or 
completed a license application.

Please do not send in an experience verification form 
until you have passed all sections of the CPA exam and 
submitted a licensing application.

Visit the VBOA website at www.boa.virginia.gov/
CPALicense/InitialLicense.shtml for more information on 
CPA licensure requirements. 
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Licensees and firms will have 90 days prior 
to their expiration date to renew their CPA 
license. 

Previously, you could only renew up to 40 
days before the expiration date. 

New statute change regarding license renewals, 
continued

  - continued from page 4

27,657
Licensed CPAs

1,644
First time CPA exam candidates

1,166
Licensed CPA firms

1,781 
CPE audits selected

VIRGINIA FUN FACTS:
(as of May 31, 2017)
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The Virginia Board of Accountancy approved changes 
to Board Policy #4, Continuing Professional Education 
(CPE) Guidelines for CPAs on May 24, 2017. The latest 
change established new retention requirements for CPE 
documentation. Licensees must now retain CPE 
documentation for the four calendar-years preceding the 
current calendar-year.

Previously, the requirement stated that CPE
documentation must be retained for three calendar-
years.

The VBOA encourages all Active CPAs to consistently 
enter their CPE into the CPE Tracker system. It is good 
practice to enter CPE into the system after the hours are 
completed. It can be overwhelming and time consuming 
to enter more than 100 hours into the system at one time 
if selected for a random CPE audit.

Licensees should not submit CPE documentation 
during the annual renewal process unless specifically 
asked by the VBOA. However, CPAs must retain the CPE 
documentation individually.

On a monthly basis the VBOA randomly selects licensed 
CPAs for a CPE audit. If selected for a CPE audit, licensees 

will be required to use 
the CPE Tracker to enter 
and submit CPE records 
and documentation to 
the VBOA. 

CPE deficiencies are 
continuing to decrease. 
The CPE deficiency failure rate in FY15 was 25% among 
Virginia CPAs and in FY16 it decreased to an 18% failure 
rate. As of June 2017, the rate was also at 18%.

The VBOA’s goal is to continue to see that percentage 
go down to ensure compliance among all Active CPA 
licensees.

CPE is a critical tool for CPAs to remain committed to 
offering the highest level of competence when serving 
clients and the public. 

In addition to the random CPE audit process, licensed 
CPAs in Virginia will also be selected for a compliance 
review as a component of any open investigation and 
enforcement case, or in situations where the VBOA 
believes that a CPE audit is warranted.

New requirements for Board Policy #4 (CPE)

18% 
CPE deficiency rate 
for Virginia CPAs as 

of June 2017

120 hours 
= rolling 3 year period

20 hours 
= minimum requirement each year 

The VBOA uses a rolling three calendar-year 
period to determine CPE compliance. This 
period includes the three calendar-years prior 
to the current calendar-year.

Virginia-Specific Ethics Course
2 hours annually

All licensees must take the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course from an 
approved sponsor annually. All instructors of the course must hold an 
active Virginia CPA license in good standing and be approved by the VBOA. 
A  listing  of  approved  sponsors  and  instructors  can  be  found  at www.
boa.virginia.gov/CPALicense/Sponsors.shtml. This list changes annually.

A & A
8 hours annually

 If applicable, this is a requirement for individuals who 
release or authorize the release of reports on attest or 
compilation services provided for persons or entities 
located in Virginia.

CPE REQUIREMENTS

Active – CPE Exempt status
The Active – CPE Exempt status must be pre-approved and in order 
to qualify, current job duties must not require a substantial use of 
accounting, financial, tax or other skills, as determined by the VBOA. 
Find the application for this status on the VBOA website at www.boa.
virginia.gov/CPALicense/ActiveCPEExempt.shtml.

http://www.boa.virginia.gov/Docs/Policies/04CPEGuidelines.pdf
http://www.boa.virginia.gov/Docs/Policies/04CPEGuidelines.pdf
https://virginia.cpetracking.com/index
http://boa.virginia.gov/CPALicense/Sponsors.shtml
www.boa.virginia.gov/CPALicense/ActiveCPEExempt.shtml
www.boa.virginia.gov/CPALicense/ActiveCPEExempt.shtml
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Launch successful of next version of the CPA exam
The American Institute of CPAs, National Association of 
State Boards of Accountancy and Prometric are pleased 
to announce the successful launch of an updated version 
of the Uniform CPA Examination.

The next generation exam, which began testing on April 
1,  2017, has added additional assessment of higher-
order cognitive skills that test a candidate’s critical 
thinking, problem solving and analytical ability. The 
exam also makes greater use of task-based simulations 
as a means of assessing these higher-order skills. Recent 
research confirms that CPAs are now performing tasks 
that rely upon these skills earlier in their careers.

“The roles and responsibilities of newly licensed CPAs 
are constantly evolving, so it’s crucial for the CPA exam 
to stay ahead of the curve. The CPA exam now better 
reflects the knowledge and skills essential to today’s 
profession,” said Michael Decker, AICPA Vice President of 
Examinations. “With an eye toward the future, we’ll 
continue to work with stakeholders to ensure that the 
CPA exam, along with the experience and education 
requirements, maintains the high bar for entry into the 
profession.”

The exam provides assurance that individuals who pass 
have the technical knowledge and skills necessary for 
CPA licensure. The current, relevant, reliable and legally 
defensible exam maintains the profession’s commitment 
and mandate of the boards of accountancy to protect the 
public.

Important changes include:
•	 Exam blueprints containing approximately 600 
representative tasks across all four exam sections   
available on the AICPA website. The blueprints have  
replaced the Content Specification Outline and Skill    
Specification Outline as CPA candidates’ primary    
source of the content and skills. These blueprints 
are more robust than the CSO and SSO, identifying 
content knowledge linked directly to representative 
tasks performed by newly licensed CPAs.
•	 The exam remains composed of the four existing
sections: Auditing and Attestation, Business Environment
and Concepts, Financial Accounting, and Reporting and 
Regulation.

•	 Any combination of passing exam sections prior to 
April 1 and passing exam sections on or after April 1 
(within the 18-month window following passing one 
section) will count toward licensure.
•	 Total CPA exam testing time increased from 14 to 16
hours – four sections of four hours each.
•	 The addition of a new 15-minute standardized break
during each section that will not count against a 
candidate’s testing time.

For candidate convenience, the 10-day extension 
of the testing window introduced in April 2016 will 
continue in the third and fourth quarters of 2017. The 10-
day extension was not available during the April/
May testing window to allow the AICPA to follow the 
standard setting process and analyze exam results to set 
new passing scores. 

CPA EXAM SCORE RELEASE TIMELINE

April/May (Q2)
Testing window

If you took your test in: 
April/May

And the AICPA received your examination data 
files from Prometric between:

April 1-May 31

Your score will be released by target release date: 
August 17 (AUD, FAR, REG)

August 21 (BEC)

July/August/September (Q3)
Testing window

If you take your test in: 
July/August/September

And the AICPA receives your examination data 
files from Prometric between:

July 1-September 10

Your score will be released by target release date: 
September 22

- continued on page 8



To provide sufficient time for the process, scores will be 
released only once following the close of each testing 
window for at least 2017.

“Through strong collaboration and partnership, we are 
proud to be a part of this joint effort to successfully bring 
the latest version of the Uniform CPA Examination to 
market,” said Michael Brannick, President and Chief 
Executive Officer, Prometric. “By successfully completing 
the exam, candidates demonstrate that they have the 
knowledge, skills and abilities to perform their jobs. We 
are pleased to continue our work with both AICPA and 
NASBA in protecting the public interest for years to come.” 

The exam that launched April 1 is based on an 
extensive practice analysis overseen by the AICPA’s 

Board of Examiners, which included input from key 
stakeholders throughout the accounting profession.

In addition to the changes to the CPA exam, the AICPA 
is working on an improved user experience which is 
expected to launch in 2018. 

The CPA exam is administered in 55 jurisdictions 
nationwide by the AICPA, NASBA and Prometric. The 
same version of the exam is also administered in English 
internationally in Japan, Bahrain, Brazil, Kuwait, Lebanon 
and the United Arab Emirates.

Detailed information on the CPA exam is available 
online at www.aicpa.org/cpaexam and https://nasba.org/
exams/the-next-version-of-the-cpa-exam/.

Launch successful of next version of CPA the exam, continued
  - continued from page 7

Senate Bill 1019 passed the General 
Assembly unanimously and was signed by 
Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe on March 13, 2017. 
It updates the public accountancy statutes to 
keep Virginia’s practices in line with national
standards, such as with the changes that 
were made to requirements for peer review. 
Additional technical changes were made to 
add clarity about use of the CPA title, providing 
services to an employer, and the statute of 
limitations for those using the CPA title under 
Virginia’s substantial equivalency laws. The 
legislation also removed the additional time 
to practice and to renew following license 
expiration. 

Pictured left to right include Sen. George
Barker, representing the 39th district; VSCPA 
Vice President, Advocacy, Emily Walker; Gov. 
Terry McAuliffe, VBOA Board Member Susan 
Ferguson, CPA; VBOA Enforcement Director 
Rebekah Allen and previous VBOA Board Chair 
James M. “Jim” Holland, CPA.

Virginia Governor signs VBOA bill
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On Wednesday, June 14, 2017, the Virginia Board of Accountancy acknowledged 
James M. “Jim” Holland, CPA, for his four years of service to the VBOA. Holland’s four-
year term as a board member ended June 30, 2017. During the VBOA Board meeting, 
newly elected VBOA Chair Matthew Bosher recognized Holland and proclaimed a 
resolution that June 14, 2017, be Holland Recognition Day. Holland served as the 
most recent VBOA chair since July 1, 2016.

Holland 
Recognition Day

James M. “Jim” Holland, CPA, with the Holland Day resolution.

VBOA news
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Gov. Terry McAuliffe recently named William R. Brown, CPA, as a new board 
member of the Virginia Board of Accountancy. McAuliffe announced the 
administration appointment on Friday, June 23, 2017. 

Brown, from Providence Forge, received his MBA in finance from Iona College, in New 
York, and his BBA in accounting from the City University of New York, Bernard M. 
Baruch College.

He is the CEO of W.R. Brown & Co., which he established in 1981. He also has 14 years 
as an arbitrator and six years as a mediator. 

Previous professional responsibilities include Managing Partner of Stewart, 
Benjamin & Brown, P.C., Audit Manager at S.D. Leidesdorf & Company, lecturer on 
the Construction Contractor’s Accounting Committee and member of the Federal Key 
Persons Program of the American Institute of CPAs. 

He is a CPA in Virginia and New York, as well as a member of the AICPA, the Virginia 
Society of Certified Public Accountants and the New York State Society of Certified 
Public Accountants. 

Brown begins his four-year term on July 1, 2017, and succeeds previous Board member 
James M. “Jim” Holland, CPA.

New VBOA board 
member 
appointed
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Peer Review 
changes effective 
July 2017

If you wish to resign 
your firm from the Peer 
Review Program, please 
contact the Virginia 
Society of CPAs Peer 
Review Team at (800) 
733-8272, option 4 or at 
peerreview@vscpa.com.  

As the result of legislation passed during the 2017 Virginia General Assembly, effective 
July 1, 2017, the requirement to enroll in a practice-monitoring program is no longer tied 
directly to firm licensure for Virginia CPA firms. Instead, whether or a not a Virginia CPA firm 
is required to enroll in a practice monitoring program will be aligned to the enrollment 
requirement outlined in the American Institute of CPAs Peer Review Program Standards. 

The AICPA developed the following questions to help firms determine if they are required 
to enroll.

Does my firm have to enroll in a peer review program if it does not have an accounting and 
auditing practice?
If a firm does not perform services that include issuing reports purporting to be in 
accordance with AICPA professional standards, it is not required to enroll in a practice-
monitoring program. 

The AICPA Peer Review Program Standards define an accounting and auditing practice as 
all of a CPA firm’s engagements performed under the Statements on Auditing Standards, 
Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services,* Statements on Standards 
for Attestation Engagements, Government Auditing Standards (the Yellow Book) issued by 
the U.S. Government Accountability Office and engagements under the Public Company 
Accounting Oversight Board standards. Engagements covered in the scope of the program 
are those included in the firm’s auditing and accounting practice that are not subject to 
PCAOB permanent inspection.

*Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS) that provide an 
exemption from those standards in certain situations are excluded from the definition of an 
accounting and auditing practice for peer review purposes.

Does my firm have to enroll in a peer review program if the only engagements it performs 
are engagements to prepare financial statements under AR-C section 70?
No, a firm that only performs engagements to prepare financial statements under AR-C 
section 70 is not required to enroll in a peer review program. For firms already enrolled 
in the AICPA Peer Review Program, engagements to prepare financial statements would 
fall within the scope of peer review. AR-C section 70, issued as part of SSARS No. 21, was 
effective for engagements to prepare financial statements for periods ending on or after 
Dec. 15, 2015. Early implementation was permitted.

Effective July 1, 2017, the Virginia Board of Accountancy will begin using the above 
criteria to determine whether a CPA firm needs to continue to be enrolled in a 
practice monitoring program. Firms that no longer need to be enrolled will be given the 
opportunity to resign from the program.

Please note: If your firm performs engagements under AR-C section 70 SSARS No. 21 (ex. 
financial statement preparation services) as its highest level of service, the firm may resign 
from the program. If the firm remains enrolled in the program, it will no longer be exempt 
from the requirement to have a peer review.

Before you start providing attest and compilation services, you must first enroll in Peer Review. 

mailto:peerreview%40vscpa.com?subject=
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VBOA news
Starting July 15, 2017, the fees to take the CPA exam increased. The total fees 
per section raised to $208.40, about $15 more than the previous fee per section.

The CPA fees went up due to COLA (cost of living adjustment) increases for 
Prometric, changes to the length of the exam, and exam development and 
administration.

The CPA exam is administered nationally by the National Association of State 
Boards of Accountancy, the American Institute of CPAs, and Prometric. The 
2017 fee increase is in line with an update to the agreement between these 
organizations.

View the updated price breakdown below.

CPA exam fees 
increase July 15

Fee type AUD FAR REG BEC
AICPA (development and scoring) $100.00 $100.00 $100.00 $100.00

Prometric (testing) $82.28 $82.28 $82.28 $82.28

Digital photograph $6.12 $6.12 $6.12 $6.12
NASBA (database and reporting) $20.00 $20.00 $20.00 $20.00

Total fees: $208.40 $208.40 $208.40 $208.40

CPA examination fees

Importance of 
keeping social 
media up-to-date

The Virginia Board of Accountancy encourages and recommends all CPA 
licensees remain diligent with their individual social media accounts. If a 
licensee has a Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or any other social media presence, 
it must remain up-to-date with current licensure status at all times.

Recently, the VBOA has encountered disciplinary cases where licensees have 
been unaware of or forgot about what is stated on their social media accounts. 

For example, an account might state the individual holds a CPA license but 
that individual has not renewed their license and let it expire. That is a 
violation of using the CPA title when a license is expired and can result in 
board disciplinary action.

If the individual is not able to keep up with an online presence consistently, 
the VBOA would recommend deleting the account to ensure the account is not 
grounds for future board disciplinary actions. 

Did you know? 
All VBOA board meetings are open to the public. The Board Chair will generally ask all public members to introduce 
themselves at the beginning of each meeting and will provide each public member a five minute comment period. 



VBOA news
Two Virginia exam candidates have earned the distinguished 2016 Elijah Watt Sells 
Award for outstanding performance on the CPA exam.

The annual award is given to CPA candidates who have obtained a cumulative 
average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, 
passed all four sections of the exam on the first attempt and completed testing in 
2016. 

A total of 102,323 candidates sat for the CPA exam in 2016, with 58 meeting the 
criteria to receive the Elijah Watt Sells Award. 

The following Virginia exam candidates made the exceptional list:
•     Sahand Kargosha: A graduate of George Mason School of Business with a Bachelor  
      of Science degree in Accounting and a master’s degree in Accounting.
•	 Liyuan Su: A graduate of Fudan University with a bachelor’s degree in Accounting, 

Shanghai University of Finance and Economics with a Master in Accounting, and 
George Washington University with a master’s degree in Finance.

The Elijah Watt Sells Award program was established by the American Institute of 
Certified Professional Accountants in 1923 and named after Elijah Sells, one of the 
country’s first CPAs. Sells played a key role helping to advance professional education 
in the accounting profession and was active in the establishment of the AICPA. 

Exam candidates 
earn Elijah Watt 
Sells Award 2016
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The American Institute of CPAs and the National Association of State Boards of 
Accountancy have been working to develop new language in the Uniform 
Accountancy Act (UAA) which, if adopted, would allow non-CPAs to assume or use 
management accounting designations with certain caveats and restrictions. 

Recently there has been discussions about what may or may not be prohibited under 
Section 14 of the Uniform Accountancy Act as it relates to the use of management 
accounting designations by non-CPAs including examples such as Chartered Global 
Management Accountants (CGMA) and Certified Management Accountants (CMA).

NASBA and the AICPA are requesting input on this topic from state boards, state 
societies, regulators, CPAs and other interested parties by September 30, 2017. 

Learn more about this from NASBA at https://nasba.org/app/uploads/2017/05/Title
ExposureDraftSection14.pdf.

NASBA and the 
AICPA request 
input

Connect with the VBOA

Like usFollow @VBOANews Subscribe to our channel

https://nasba.org/app/uploads/2017/05/TitleExposureDraftSection14.pdf
https://nasba.org/app/uploads/2017/05/TitleExposureDraftSection14.pdf
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VBOA news
50-year CPAs 
in Virginia

Congratulations! Based on the Virginia Board of Accountancy records, as of July 1, 
2017, the following Virginia CPAs have held an active license for 50 years in 2017. 

Starting in spring 2017 and moving forward, the Virginia Board of Accountancy has 
increased electronic communications as a means of getting vital information out 
quickly to our licensees, firms and exam candidates. 

Recent emails have been sent out to include information regarding statute 
changes and CPE reminders and requirements. The VBOA encourages individuals 
not to opt out of these emails and any future ones like it. Because email is the 
VBOA’s main source of communicating, individuals are at risk of missing pertinent 
information if they opt out.

Email is the primary communication tool the VBOA uses to also send annual 
electronic reminders to licensees regarding license renewal. In accordance with 
Board Regulation 18VAC5-22-170C, the VBOA transmits license renewal notices 
electronically unless a licensee is unable to communicate electronically (in which 
case a notice will be sent via USPS). Please confirm the VBOA has the correct email 
address on file to ensure receipt of all the information.

If you have any questions about this, please contact the VBOA directly at boa@boa.
virginia.gov or (804) 367-8505.

Increase of VBOA 
electronic 
communications

•	 Richard N. Clampitt
•	 Charles P. Cocke
•	 Robert V. Farabaugh
•	 Phillip W. Finch
•	 Robert W. Hogg

•	 Herbert A. Levin
•	 Morris E. Levy
•	 John J. Mcgarry
•	 Asa L. Shield Jr.
•	 Jimmie L. Wright

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section170/
mailto:boa%40boa.virginia.gov?subject=
mailto:boa%40boa.virginia.gov?subject=


			 

CPA exam 2016 performance statistics

			 

 
	 	

Virginia

Below are highlights that were posted in the 2016 Candidate Performance on the Uniform CPA Examination - 
Jurisdiction Edition, published by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. These year-end 
numbers, provided by NASBA, are collected through voluntary participation of candidates and their individual boards of 
accountancy, in cooperation with the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Virginia is compared to the 
overall candidate performances from the 55 boards of accountancy jurisdictions.

All jurisdictions

Overall performance
•	 Candidates:		  102,323
•	 New candidates:		    78,178
•	 Total sections: 	             268,933

Exam type

Average age
29.3

Demographics

Female: 1,911

Male: 868

Overall performance
•	   Candidates:		  3,573 (3.5%)
•	   New candidates:		  2,677 (3.4%)
•	   Total sections: 		  9,201 (3.4%)

Average age
28.9

Sections Score Pass

First-time: 157,655 72.3 54.4%
Re-exam: 111,278 70.4 40.7%

Exam type
Sections Score Pass

First-time: 5,412 73.9 58.3%
Re-exam: 3,789 71.4 41.5%

Performance by section
	 AUD	 BEC	 FAR	 REG	

Candidates	 996	 950	 1,009	 781	

Sections	 1,154	 1,022	 1,164	 893	

Pass	 55.5%	 70.6%	 56.6%	 57.9%	

Score	 75.1	 77.3	 72.5	 73.3	
	
	

Performance by section

Demographics

Female: 52,335

Male: 47,741	
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	 AUD	 BEC	 FAR	 REG	

Candidates	 26,856	 28,124	 29,673	 23,202	

Sections	 31,459	 30,568	 33,806	 26,409	

Pass	 49.9%	 63.2%	 50.9%	 53.8%	

Score	 72.7	 74.9	 70.1	 71.7	
	
	



Board Disciplinary Actions

Policy notice

It is the policy of the Virginia Board of Accountancy to publish the information of licensees against 
whom the VBOA has taken a disciplinary action resulting in suspensions and revocations and for other 
professional violations. The VBOA publishes information of licensees found to be deficient in CPE credit 
hours in the event of a previous CPE deficiency or previous professional violation, or a disciplinary action 
resulting in suspension. The VBOA also publishes information of unlicensed individuals and firms against 
whom the VBOA has taken a disciplinary action. This policy is subject to change without notice.

Monetary penalties are deposited into the Commonwealth’s Literary Fund and are not available for use by 
the VBOA.
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January to June 2017

Unlicensed activity
Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Janice Kay 
Bigelow

14525 Alexandria, Va. Unlicensed activity; 
failure to disclose

5/24/17 § 54.1-4413.4, 
§ 54.1-4414

Janice Kay Bigelow violated the Code of Virginia when she used the CPA title on her LinkedIn profile despite not 
having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Bigelow agreed to: (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $250; (3) remove the 
CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies licensure until she has been granted a license by the 
board; and (4) report this order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority 
before which she practices. 

Consent Order

Unlicensed activity
Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Timberley Walton 
Borger

11913 Wake Forest, NC Unlicensed activity 6/14/17 § 54.1-4414

Timberley Walton Borger violated the Code of Virginia when she used the CPA title and claimed to hold a license 
to use the CPA title on her resume despite not having an active CPA license.  

Based on the violations, Borger agreed to (1) pay a monetary penalty of $100; and (2) remove the CPA title from 
all signage and any and all listings that implies licensure until she has been granted a license by the Board; and 
(3) report this order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority before which 
she practices.

Consent Order

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
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January to June 2017
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Christine Margaret 
Brammer

23330 Hauppauge, NY CPE deficiency; 
false certifications 
on renewal 
applications 

2/2/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), 
(7), § 54.1-4413.4, 
18VAC5-22-90(A) and/
or (B) 

Consent Order
Christine Margaret Brammer violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours CPE 
requirements, which includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 
2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Brammer’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA 
title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty 
of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2016, 2017 and 2018, including the 
Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year. 

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Tracy Lynn 
Bowers

27932 Arlington, Va. CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on renewal 
applications 

1/10/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-
22-90(A) and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Tracy Lynn Bowers violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours CPE requirements, which 
includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Bowers’ CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA 
title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty 
of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2016, 2017 and 2018, including the 
Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year. 

CPE deficiency

CPE deficiency

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/


Board Disciplinary Actions

January to June 2017

Consent Order
Natasha Cadeau violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours CPE requirements, which 
includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Cadeau’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. Upon completion of the suspension and all terms and 
conditions, she may apply for reinstatement. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA title cannot be used 
nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $500; (2) remove the 
CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; and (3) shall submit to a 
CPE audit for the reporting period following her reinstatement. 

CPE deficiency
Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Natasha 
Cadeau

37465 South Orange, NJ CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

1/3/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), 
(7), § 54.1-4413.4, 
18VAC5-22-90(A) and/
or (B) 
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Andrea Nichola 
Brown

27869 London, United 
Kingdom

CPE deficiency; 
false certifications 
on renewal 
applications 

2/2/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), 
(7), § 54.1-4413.4, 
18VAC5-22-90(A) and/
or (B)

Consent Order
Andrea Nichola Brown violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours CPE requirements, 
which includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 
and 2015. 

Brown’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA 
title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty 
of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2017, 2018 and 2019 including the 
Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year. 

CPE deficiency

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/


Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Ling Cao 27972 Vienna, Va. CPE deficiency; false 

certifications on 
renewal applications 

12/28/16 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-22-
90(A) and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Ling Cao violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours CPE requirements, which includes 
the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Cao’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. Upon completion of the suspension and all terms and 
conditions, she may apply for reinstatement. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA title cannot be 
used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $1,000; (2) 
remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; and (3) submit 
verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2016, 2017 and 2018, including the Virginia-Specific 
Ethics Course for each year. 

CPE deficiency

Board Disciplinary Actions

January to June 2017
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
David Allen 
Dolan

17848 Lynchburg, Va. Due professional care 4/28/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)

Consent Order
David Allen Dolan violated the Code of Virginia when he failed to exercise sensitive professional and moral 
judgment in that he permitted his entity to perform attest services, compilation services and financial statement 
preparation services without an active Virginia firm CPA license. 

Based on the violations, Dolan agreed to (1) be reprimanded; and (2) to report the Board’s order as an adverse 
administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority before which he practices.

Professional violations

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Dolan Group, 
LLC 

Not licensed as 
a firm

Lynchburg, Va. Unlicensed activity 4/28/17 § 54.1-4412.1

Consent Order
Dolan Group, LLC violated the Code of Virginia for providing services that are restricted to licensed CPA firms.

Based on the violations, Dolan Group, LLC agreed to (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $500 for 
performing attest services, compilation services or financial statement preparation services without an active 
Virginia firm CPA license; (3) pay an administrative fee of $500 for the investigation of this matter; (4) notify its 
affected clients, and provide proof of such notification, that services provided in 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 were 
performed without an active firm license; and (5) report the Board’s order as an adverse administrative action to 
any present or future regulatory authority before which it practices.

Unlicensed activity

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4412.1/


Board Disciplinary Actions

January to June 2017

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Julian Francis 
Facenda

5043 Norfolk, Va. Unlicensed activity 4/28/17 § 54.1-4414

Consent Order
Julian Francis Facenda violated the Code of Virginia when he used the CPA title on his business cards and email 
signature despite not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Facenda agreed to (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $200; (3) remove the 
CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies he is currently licensed; and (4) report the Board’s 
order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority before which he practices.

Unlicensed activity

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Hongyan Guo 28122 Great Falls, Va. CPE deficiency; false 

certifications on 
renewal applications 

3/20/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), 
(7), § 54.1-4413.4, 
18VAC5-22-90(A) 
and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Hongyan Guo violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours CPE requirements, which 
includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Guo’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. Upon completion of the suspension, she shall be required 
to come before the Board as a condition of reinstatement. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA title 
cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of 
$1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2017, 2018 and 2019, including the 
Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year. Guo shall comply with all terms and conditions prior to the 
consideration of any and all applications for CPA licensure or renewal of CPA licensure in Virginia.

CPE deficiency
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/


Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Matthew 
Thomas Kranz

16315 Warrenton, Va. Unlicensed activity; 
CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

1/25/17 § 54.1-4414, § 54.1-
4413.3(1)-(4), (7), § 54.1-
4413.4, 18VAC5-22-90(A) 
and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Matthew Thomas Kranz violated the Code of Virginia for using the CPA title despite not having an active CPA 
license, and violated the Board’s regulations for failing to meet the Board’s CPE requirements in calendar years 
2013 and 2014. 

Based on these violations, Kranz agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all 
signage and any and all listings that implies he is currently licensed; (3) submit a 1,000 word essay on the topic 
of “the importance of renewing your individual CPA license with the Virginia Board of Accountancy;” (4) pay a 
monetary penalty of $500 for failing to meet the Board’s CPE requirements; (5) submit verification of CPE 
compliance for the three calendar years of 2016, 2017 and 2018, including the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for 
each year; (6) report this order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority 
before which he practices; and (7) pay the reasonable administrative fee of $500 for the investigation of this 
matter. 

Unlicensed activity

Board Disciplinary Actions

January to June 2017
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Kristin Lindgren 
Henningsen

23363 Charlottesville, Va. Unlicensed activity 6/14/17 § 54.1-4414

Consent Order
Kristin Lindgren Henningsen violated the Code of Virginia when she used the CPA title on her LinkedIn profile, 
business cards and work profile.

Based on the violations, Henningsen agreed to: (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $100; and (3) 
remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies licensure until she has been granted a 
license by the Board. 

Unlicensed activity

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Peter Mathias Lampert 11361 Arlington, Va. Unlicensed activity 4/28/17 § 54.1-4414

Consent Order
Peter Mathias Lampert violated the Code of Virginia when he used the CPA title on his Forms ADV despite not 
having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Lampert agreed to (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $100; (3) remove the 
CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies he is currently licensed; and (4) report the Board’s 
order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority before which he practices.

Unlicensed activity

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Youn Kyung Lee 32409 Centreville, 

Va.
CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

6/1/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-
22-90(A) and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Youn Kyung Lee violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, 
including the annual Virginia-Specific Ethics Course, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Lee’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time the license is suspended, the CPA title 
cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. Lee also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of 
$1,750; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies licensure; (3) submit proof 
of completion of the current year’s Virginia-Specific Ethics Course within 60 days; and (4) be subject to a CPE 
compliance review for the three year reporting period following reinstatement.

CPE deficiency

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Phoebe Lee 26112 Flushing, NY CPE deficiency; false 

certifications on 
renewal applications 

5/1/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-22-
90(A) and/or (B)

Consent Order
Phoebe Lee violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, which 
includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Lee’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA title 
cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of 
$1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2017, 2018 and 2019, including the 
Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year. 

CPE deficiency

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/


Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Javier E. Molina 26426 Washington, 

D.C.
CPE deficiency 1/11/17 18VAC5-22-90 

Consent Order
Javier E. Molina violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, which 
includes the Virginia- Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Molina’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. Upon completion of the suspension, he shall be 
required to come before the Board as a condition of reinstatement and present proof of 120 hours of CPE. During 
the time his license is suspended, the CPA title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. He also 
agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings 
that implies he is currently licensed; and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 
2016, 2017 and 2018, including the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year.

CPE deficiency

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Ana Fontes 
Mills 

9476 Alexandria, Va. Unlicensed activity 2/22/17 § 54.1-4414 and 
§ 54.1-4413.4

Consent Order
Ana Fontes Mills violated the Code of Virginia when she used the CPA title on her LinkedIn profile, business card 
and two IRS Forms despite not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Mills agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $3,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all 
signage and any and all listings until she has been granted a license; (3) write a 1,000 word essay on the topic of 
“integrity and its impact on public trust in the CPA profession;” and (4) pay the reasonable administrative fee of 
$500 for the investigation of this matter.

Unlicensed activity

Unlicensed activity
Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Mills Associates 
CPAs, LLC

Never licensed Fairfax Station, 
Va.

Unlicensed firm 
activity

2/22/17 § 54.1-4414, 
§ 54.1-4412.1 and 
§ 54.1-4413.4

Mills Associates CPAs, LLC violated the Code of Virginia when it used the CPA title in its name, on its business card 
and website despite not having an active CPA license or meeting the requirements of § 54.1-4412.1 (B)(1). 

Based on the violations, Mills Associates CPAs, LLC agreed to: (1) be reprimanded for using the CPA title; and (2) 
Mills Associates CPAs, LLC shall remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies it is 
currently licensed.

Consent Order

Board Disciplinary Actions
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4412.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Joshua Michael 
Neff

42808 Culpeper, Va. Advertising practices 4/28/17 § 54.1-4413.3(2) and 
(4)

Consent Order
Joshua Michael Neff violated the Code of Virginia when he promoted professional services in a manner that is false, 
misleading or deceptive by permitting a person whom he had authority over to promote or advertise that his entity 
could perform services that are restricted to actively licensed CPA firms.

Based on the violations, Neff agreed to (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $1,000; and (3) report 
the Board’s order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority before which 
he practices.

Professional violations

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Michael Stevens 
Newton

32276 Gainesville, 
Va.

CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

5/1/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), 
(7), § 54.1-4413.4, 
18VAC5-22-90(A) 
and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Michael Stevens Newton violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE 
requirements, which includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 
2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Newton’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time his license is suspended, the CPA 
title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. He also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty 
of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies he is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2017, 2018 and 2019, including the 
Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each year. 

CPE deficiency

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Eli Jay Novich 36470 Reston, Va. Unlicensed activity; CPE 

deficiency; failure to 
disclose

4/28/17 § 54.1-4414, 18VAC5-
22-90(A) and/or (B)

Consent Order
Eli Jay Novich violated the Code of Virginia when he used the CPA title on his LinkedIn profile despite not having an 
active CPA license. Novich also violated the Board’s regulations by failing to complete any CPE in 2013 and 2014.

Based on the violations, Novich agreed to (1) pay a monetary penalty of $100; (2) pay a monetary penalty for $250 
for failure to obtain a minimum of 20 CPE hours in 2013 and 2014; and (3) pay a monetary penalty for $250 for 
failure to complete the annual Virginia-Specific Ethics Course in 2013 and 2014. Novich shall submit proof of 
completion of the current year’s Virginia-Specific Ethics Course on or before June 30, 2017.

Unlicensed activity

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Diamanta 
Rusu

38455 Vienna, Va. CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

4/28/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), 
(7), § 54.1-4413.4, 
18VAC5-22-90(A) and/
or (B) 

Final Order
Diamanta Rusu violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, which 
includes the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course for each calendar year, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Rusu’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA title 
cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $750; 
and (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed. 

CPE deficiency

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Philip B. Shane Never licensed in 

Virginia
Williamsburg, Va. Unlicensed activity 4/28/17 § 54.1-4414

Consent Order
Philip B. Shane violated the Code of Virginia when he used the CPA title on his College of William and Mary faculty 
profile, curriculum vitae and in other professional settings despite not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Shane agreed to (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $500; and (3) write a 
1,000 word essay on the topic of “The Value of the CPA Title in Academia” that must be submitted to the Board for 
its approval.

Unlicensed activity

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/


Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Darcel A. Smith 41882 Miami, Fla. Unlicensed activity 2/22/17 § 54.1-4414 and 

§ 54.1-4413.4

Consent Order
Darcel A. Smith violated the Code of Virginia when she used the CPA title on her resume and LinkedIn profile 
despite not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Smith agreed to: (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $250; (3) not use the 
CPA title and remove it from all signage and any and all listings until such time her license is reinstated; and (4) 
report this Order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority before which she 
practices. 

Unlicensed activity

Consent Order
Larissa Simkovich violated the Code of Virginia when she used the CPA title on her business card and LinkedIn 
profile despite not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Simkovich agreed to: (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $100; (3) not 
use the CPA title and remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings until such time her license is 
reinstated; and (4) report this Order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory 
authority before which she practices. 

Unlicensed activity
Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Larissa  Simkovich 41859 Arlington, 

Va.
Unlicensed activity 1/25/17 § 54.1-4414 and 

§ 54.1-4413.4

Final Order
Ryan Elton Shipley violated the Code of Virginia when he failed to follow the standards of conduct and practice and 
engaged in dishonesty, fraud or gross negligence in providing services to an employer, by stealing money from his 
employer, falsifying documents and forging signatures.
 
The Board ordered Shipley’s CPA license to be revoked. It was ordered that he (1) pay a monetary penalty of $5,000; 
(2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies he holds an active license; and (3) not 
have the privilege of using the CPA title in Virginia if he holds a CPA license of substantially equivalent jurisdiction.

Professional violations
Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Ryan Elton Shipley 42032 Chesterfield, 

Va.
Acts discreditable 5/24/17 § 54.1-4413.3 (1)-(4), 

(7), § 54.1-4413.4

Board Disciplinary Actions

January to June 2017

25

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/


Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Susan Maria 
Verrocchio

28092 Chantilly, Va. Unlicensed activity 1/25/17 § 54.1-4414 and 
§ 54.1-4413.4

Consent Order
Susan Maria Verrocchio violated the Code of Virginia for using the CPA title on her resume and LinkedIn profile 
despite not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Verrocchio agreed to: (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $100; (3) not 
use the CPA title and remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings until such time her license is 
reinstated; and (4) report this Order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory 
authority before which she practices. 

Unlicensed activity

Board Disciplinary Actions
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
George Joseph 
Vrtiak

9108 Midlothian, Va. CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

6/20/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-
22-90(A) and/or (B) 

Consent Order
George Joseph Vrtiak violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, 
including the annual Virginia-Specific Ethics Course, for the reporting period of 2014, 2015 and 2016. 

Vrtiak’s CPA license is suspended for one year. During his license suspension, the CPA title cannot be used nor 
any services provided restricted to CPAs. He also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty of $1,750; (2) remove the 
CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies he is currently licensed; and (3) submit to a CPE 
compliance review for the three-year reporting period following his reinstatement. 

CPE deficiency

Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Jason Andrew 
Weippert

37343 Richmond, Va. Unlicensed activity 6/14/17 § 54.1-4414

Consent Order
Jason Andrew Weippert violated the Code of Virginia when he used the CPA title on his LinkedIn profile despite 
not having an active CPA license.

Based on the violations, Weippert agreed to: (1) be reprimanded; (2) pay a monetary penalty of $200; (3) remove the 
CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies licensure until he has been granted a license by the 
Board; and (4) report this order as an adverse administrative action to any present or future regulatory authority 
before which he practices. 

Unlicensed activity

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4414/


Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Yousif Musa 
Yousif

28143 Woodbridge, 
Va.

CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

6/14/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-
22-90(A) and/or (B) 

Final Order
Yousif Musa Yousif violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, 
including the annual Virginia-Specific Ethics Course, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

The Board ordered Yousif’s CPA license to be suspended for no less than one year. During the time his license is 
suspended, the CPA title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. He must also pay a monetary 
penalty of $1,000 and remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies he is currently 
licensed. 

CPE deficiency

VBOA Board Disciplinary Actions from 2011 are listed by name in alphabetical order on our 
website at www.boa.virginia.gov/Consumers/InvestigationResultsStatistics.shtml. Contact the VBOA 
for disciplinary actions prior to 2011, or if additional information or documentation is needed. 

Board Disciplinary Actions
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Name License number City, State Violation Date Authority
Hiroko 
Yagisawa

35480 Chiba, Japan CPE deficiency; false 
certifications on 
renewal applications 

5/12/17 § 54.1-4413.3(1)-(4), (7), 
§ 54.1-4413.4, 18VAC5-
22-90(A) and/or (B) 

Consent Order
Hiroko Yagisawa violated the Board’s regulations by failing to meet the total 120 hours of CPE requirements, 
including the annual Virginia-Specific Ethics Course, for the reporting period of 2013, 2014 and 2015. 

Yagisawa’s CPA license is suspended for no less than one year. During the time her license is suspended, the CPA 
title cannot be used nor any services provided restricted to CPAs. She also agreed to: (1) pay a monetary penalty 
of $1,000; (2) remove the CPA title from all signage and any and all listings that implies she is currently licensed; 
and (3) submit verification of CPE compliance for the three calendar years of 2017, 2018 and 2019, including the 
annual Virginia-Specific Ethics Course. 

CPE deficiency

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://www.boa.virginia.gov/Docs/BoardDisciplinaryActions.pdf
www.boa.virginia.gov/Consumers/InvestigationResultsStatistics.shtml
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.3/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4413.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/


Keep us informed
Have you moved? Changed your name? Changed your email address or 
phone number? Please update your contact information so we can reach you.

In accordance with Board Regulation 18VAC5-22-170, each holder of a 
Virginia license shall notify the VBOA in writing within 30 calendar days of 
any change in the holder’s name or postal and electronic addresses where 
the person or firm may be reached. 

Licensees
Login to update address, phone number and/or email address. A name 
change may only be submitted with a Change of Contact Information Form.

Exam candidates
Submit a Change of Contact Information Form to update name, address, 
phone number and/or email address.

Please visit the Board’s website for additional information about 
upcoming meetings.         	

Board meetings are typically held in the second floor conference center 
at 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, Virginia 23233 unless otherwise noted.  

Please call (804) 367-8505 a week before the scheduled date for the 
latest details. Board meetings are open to the public.

Until next time...

    Upcoming Board Meetings
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License renewal
It is the responsibility of the licensee to renew their license regardless of 
whether the licensee receives a reminder notice for renewal from the VBOA.

All licensed Virginia CPAs must renew their individual license annually. 
In general, an individual CPA license expires on the last day of the month 
in which the license was originally issued. Licensees may visit the VBOA 
licensee search to determine when their license is due to expire. The 
VBOA  sends electronic renewal notices approximately 45-60 days prior to 
the expiration of the license and again 15 days prior to the expiration. A 
third notice will also be sent approximately 30 days after the expiration of 
the license. 

Renew an individual CPA license on the VBOA website.

August 31, 2017

For comments and/or 
questions about the VBOA 

newsletter, contact:

Kelli L. Anderson
Communications Manager

Phone: (804) 367-1586
Fax: (804) 527-4409

Email: kelli.anderson@boa.virginia.gov
Website: www.boa.virginia.gov

View the listing for new
Virginia licensees

(individual and firm) on the 
VBOA website.

 The mission of the Virginia 
Board of Accountancy is to 
protect the citizens of the 
Commonwealth through a  

regulatory program of 
licensure and compliance 

of CPAs and CPA firms.

November 7, 2017: To be held at Virginia Tech (tentative)
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