
VIRGINIA BOARD 
OF ACCOUNTANCYvboa VIRGINIA BOARD 

OF ACCOUNTANCYvboa
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Requirements Certification Form

The Virginia Board of Accountancy requires all CPA applicants for individual CPA licensure read and understand all CPE 
requirements for obtaining and maintaining licensure in Virginia and to abide by the CPE requirements while they hold an 
Active license. 

Pursuant to Code of Virginia § 54.1-4409.2, a person who applies for an initial CPA license or holds a Virginia CPA individual 
license is required to obtain CPE. Requirements for CPE are found in VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90. Requirements for 
attest, compilation, and financial statement preparation services provided by persons who release or authorize the release 
of reports are found in 18VAC5-22-140. 

The VBOA recognizes that 50 minutes of CPE participation equals 1 hour of CPE credit. One semester hour of credit for 
courses at an accredited institution constitutes 15 hours of CPE and 1 quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 hours of CPE. 
Any request for an exemption from the VBOA’s CPE requirements must be made in writing. Specific questions should be 
addressed to the VBOA at cpe@boa.virginia.gov.

Status Calendar year 
(CY)

Total hours 
required

Minimum hours 
required

VBOA-approved 
ethics course 
(included in total 
hours)

CPE related to providing 
attest, compilation, or financial 
statement preparation services 
(included in total hours)

CY of passing 
exam

0 hours 0 hours Not applicable Not applicable

1st CY after exam 40 hours 40 hours 2 hours Not applicable

2nd CY after 
exam

80 hours 80 hours 2 hours Not applicable

3rd CY (or more) 
after exam

120 hours 120 hours 2 hours Not applicable

CY of initial 
license

0 hours 0 hours Not applicable Not applicable

    Any 3-CY 
reporting cycle

120 hours/
3 years

20 hours/CY 2 hours 8 hours (Only if releasing or 
authorizing release of reports)

Current CY 120 hours 120 hours 2 hours Not applicable

 I have read and understand the CPE requirements of CPA licensure in Virginia as outlined in § 54.1-4409.2,   
 18VAC5-22-90 and 18VAC5-22-140, and shall upon the VBOA’s request demonstrate compliance with the CPE   
 requirements.

 I understand that failure to meet the CPE requirements will result in disciplinary action by the VBOA.

Print name:

Signature:         Date:

Licensure 
applicant

Inactive/Expired/
Voluntarily 
Surrender 

Applying for initial license

Licensed

Reinstatement of license

Active 
licensee

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4409.2/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section140/
mailto:cpe%40boa.virginia.gov?subject=
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4409.2/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section140/
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