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The Virginia Board of Accountancy requires all CPA applicants for individual CPA licensure read and understand all CPE 
requirements for obtaining and maintaining licensure in Virginia and to abide by the CPE requirements while they hold an 
Active license. 

Pursuant to Code of Virginia § 54.1-4409.2, a person who applies for an initial CPA license or holds a Virginia individual 
license is required to obtain CPE. Requirements for CPE are found in VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90. Requirements for 
attest, compilation, and financial statement preparation services provided by persons who release or authorize the release 
of reports are found in 18VAC5-22-140. 

The VBOA recognizes that 50 minutes of CPE participation equals 1 hour of CPE credit. One semester hour of credit for 
courses at an accredited institution constitutes 15 hours of CPE and 1 quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 hours of CPE. 
Any request for an exemption from the VBOA’s CPE requirements must be made in writing. Specific questions should be 
addressed to cpe@boa.virginia.gov.

The following chart outlines Virginia’s CPE requirements.

Licensure status Calendar year
(CY)

Total hours 
required

Minimum 
hours required

Virginia-Specific Ethics 
(included in total hours)

CPE related to providing 
attest, compilation, or 
financial statement 
preparation services

CY of licensure 0 hours 0 hours Not applicable Not applicable
1st CY after 
exam

40 hours 40 hours 2 hours Not applicable

2 CY after exam 80 hours 80 hours 2 hours Not applicable
3rd CY (or 
more) after 
exam

120 hours 120 hours 2 hours Not applicable

Licensee who has 
not been granted 
exemption or a 
waiver by the VBOA.

Any three CY 
reporting cycle

120 hours/
3 years

20 hours 2 hours 8 hours 
(Only if releasing or 
authorizing release of 
reports)

Applying for initial license

	 I have read and understand the CPE requirements of CPA licensure in Virginia as outlined in § 54.1-4409.2, 		
	 18VAC5-22-90 and 18VAC5-22-140, and shall upon the VBOA’s request demonstrate compliance with the CPE 		
	 requirements.

	 I understand that failure to meet the CPE requirements will result in disciplinary action by the VBOA.

Print name:

Signature:									         Date:

The candidate has 
passed the CPA 
exam and applies for 
licensure.

Licensed

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4409.2/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section140/
mailto:cpe%40boa.virginia.gov?subject=
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter44/section54.1-4409.2/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section90/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency5/chapter22/section140/
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